Fine Art Weekly: Epic Wedge!

We’ve had a HUGE week of surf rolling through Orange County recently. Here’s a shot from a recent session swimming with our camera at the Wedge in over 20 foot surf! (We think it’s pretty epic!)
*dwp-studios

~ by driftwoodphotographystudios on May 22, 2011.

2 Responses to “Fine Art Weekly: Epic Wedge!”

  1. If you ask me, this is one of the better shots of the wedge I’ve seen.

    -Slater

    • Thanks so much! It was a pretty crazy shot to get…

      For most of the morning it was peaking around 15 foot, then all of a sudden out the back this MONSTER 4 wave set rolls in. Dolphins were surfing the waves, and though there was no way to see them in the silty waters of OC I could hear them as I dove under water, two even launched over my head out the backside of one wave as I surfaced! We were so far out that though I tried, I never found the bottom as I was diving under.

      That’s Bobby Okvist cresting the lip there. He scored the next wave, just as big! Only guy out there, standup or sponge, to get a wave on that set.

Leave a comment